The Australian curriculum is designed to address the individual needs and interests of students to provide a foundation for successful learning and outcomes.

Schools offer a broad range of subjects within the core learning areas which challenge students to develop essential skills and capabilities.

wdt_IDCore learning areasEssential skills and capabilities
1 English Literacy
2 Mathematics Numeracy
3 Science Information and communication technology
4 Humanities and Social Sciences Critical and creative thinking
5 The Arts Personal and social capability
6 Languages Intercultural understanding
7 Health and Physical Education
8 Technologies
9 Work Studies

Specialised subjects and programs

Specialised subjects

Specialised subjects include marine biology, hospitality, surfing, outdoor education, dance, music and photography. If you want to try a new subject, you should consider this when choosing your school.

Special interest programs

Special interest programs are available to students with a talent or passion in a particular subject area such as languages, music, performing arts and sport. Entry into these programs may require evidence of student aptitude, an audition or try-out prior to acceptance. Additional fees may apply.

Co-curricular clubs and competitions

Students can participate individually or as a team member in any school based activities including music bands, engineering design competitions, debating, drama productions, team sports and adventure activities.


South Australian Certificate of Education

The South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE) is an internationally recognised qualification awarded to students who successfully complete Years 11 and 12 in a South Australian high school. Students receive an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) based on their academic results.

The SACE is divided into Stage 1 and Stage 2. In planning your senior secondary study, you will complete a Personal Learning Plan in Year 10 or when you start Year 11. The SACE is based on a credit system where each subject per semester is equal to 10 credits. Students must achieve 200 credits for their SACE. Credit towards the SACE may be given to students who have successfully completed Year 11 in their own country.

The ATAR is recognised for entry into Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions, and is used by many universities around the world to select students for degree courses.

Visit the SACE website for more information.

Choose your language